2013-2014 Academic Calendar

August 

September  

October 

November 

December 

January 

February 

March 

April 

May 

June

August 2013

Thursday, August 1
Audition sign-up period begins. Call the Prep Office at (617) 585-1160 or e-mail prep@necmusic.edu to schedule an audition. Seating auditions can be scheduled online by logging in to our Large Ensemble Auditions database.

Thursday, August 29 - Friday, August 30
Prep Fall Placement Auditions/Large Ensemble Seating Auditions Weekend #1

September 2013

Monday, September 2
Labor Day

Friday, September 6 - Sunday, September 8
Prep Fall Placement Auditions/Large Ensemble Seating Auditions Weekend #2

Monday, September 9
NEC at Walnut Hill School placement auditions

Friday, September 13
Sr. MYWE, Jr. MYWE, and Friday Baroque Ensembles begin

Week 1: Saturday, September 14
Prep First Day of Fall Semester
First day of classes, lessons, and large ensembles
Jazz Classes Begin

Week 2: Saturday, September 21
Prep Chamber Music and Jazz Ensembles Begin
Workshops: String (1)
Voice Masterclass Series: The Art of Performance & Practice with Eli Epstein, 2-3 PM

Week 3: Saturday, September  28
Registration Deadline: Late fees incurred after today
Workshops: Piano (1)
Recitals: String (1)
Jazz Lessons Begin
Prep Open House

October 2013

Friday, October 4
Faculty Council meeting: 9:15-11:15 AM @ SB 309

Week 4: Saturday, October 5
Workshops: String (2)
Recitals: Piano (1)
(SAT Exam)

Week 5: Saturday, October 12
Workshops: Piano (2)
Recitals: String (2)
Concerto Competition Applications Due

Week 6: Saturday, October 19
Workshops: String (3)
Recitals: Piano (2)
Brass Seminar: Calculated Laziness & Boredom for the Advancing Musician: Learn how to make your practicing both easier and more efficient! presented by Kenneth Amis, tubist of the Empire Brass

Sunday, October 20
BrassFest, 10 AM - 12 PM

Week 7: Saturday, October 26
Workshops: Piano (3)
Brass/Woodwind (1)
Recitals: String (3)
Norman Fischer, cello masterclass - 10 AM - 12 PM, Keller Room
Voice Masterclass Series: YogaVoice with Cristi Catt, 2-3 PM

November 2013

Friday, November 1
Faculty Council meeting: 9:15-11:15 AM

Week 8: Saturday, November 2
Workshops: String (4)
Brass/Woodwind (2)
Recitals: Piano (3), Brass/Woodwind (1)
Advanced Masterclass Series: Preparing & Auditioning for College Voice Programs with Michael Meraw, 1-3 PM
Zora Tsuker Piano Seminar Masterclasses, 2 PM and 3 PM in SB 113

Sunday, November 3
TrumpetFest with Rich Kelley and Joseph Foley, 10 AM - 12 PM

Week 9: Saturday, November 9
Workshops: Piano (4)
Recitals: String (4)
Brass/Woodwind (2)
NEC / WGBH Cartoon Festival @ Symphony Hall
Brass Master Class: New Routes for Old Ruts: How to find alternative routes to avoid and/or get out of being stuck in a rut. Presented by Norman Bolter, trombonist of the BSO and Boston Pops, 11:15 AM - 12 noon

Sunday, November 10
YS Dress Rehearsal 6:00 – 9:00 PM
Concerto Competition Preliminaries

November 11
YS Concert 8:00 PM @ Jordan Hall

Week 10: Saturday, November 16
Workshops: String (5)
Recitals: Piano (4)
Voice Masterclass Series: Singing in Italian with Clara Sandler, 2-3 PM

Sunday, November 17
Concerto Competition Finals
Euphonium/TubaFest with Kenneth Amis, 10 AM - 12 PM

Monday, November 18
YPO Dress Rehearsal 6:00 – 9:00 PM

Thursday, November 21
David Eure: Prep Faculty Recital, 8:00 PM in Jordan Hall

Friday, November 22
YPO Concert 8:00 PM @ Jordan Hall

Week 11: Saturday, November 23
Workshops: Piano (5)
Recitals: String (5)

Thursday, November 28 - Saturday, November 30
Thanksgiving Vacation – No Prep Activities
NEC offices closed through Saturday

December 2013

Friday, December 6
Faculty Council meeting: 9:15 -11:15 AM @ SB 309

Week 12: Saturday, December 7
Workshops: String (6)
Recitals: Piano (5)
Voice Masterclass Series: Recital Preparation with Kathryn Fields, 2-3 PM

Sunday, December 8
Jr. MYWE Concert @ 8:00 PM
(7-7:30 PM warm up)

Wednesday, December 11
Youth Jazz Orchestra Concert @ 8:00 PM
(4:00 – 6:00 PM soundcheck)

Week 13: Saturday, December 14
Workshops: Piano (6)
Recitals: String (6)
YRO/SCO Dress Rehearsal, 10:00 AM -12:15 PM
YRO/SCO Concert 1:00 PM @ Jordan Hall
Winter Chamber Music Festival Forms Due

Sunday, December 15
Sr. MYWE Concert 8:00 PM @ Jordan Hall (7-7:30 PM warm up)
Konstantinos Papadakis: Prep Faculty Recital, 3:00 PM in Williams Hall

Monday, December 16
YBE/Trombone Choir Concert 8:00 PM @ Jordan Hall
(7-7:30 PM warm up)
Youth Chorale Dress Rehearsal, 6:00 – 9:00 PM

Tuesday, December 17
Winter Concert: Youth Chorale 7:30 PM @ Jordan Hall
(6-6:45 PM warm up)

Wednesday, December 18
YJO Recording Session (Pierce Hall)

Saturday, December 21
No regularly scheduled Prep lessons/classes
(YPO, YJO YS and Youth Chorale rehearse)
Piano Seminar Festival
Suzuki Winter concert
Winter Festival Concert 1:00 – 5:00 PM
Children’s Choruses, String Training, Preparatory String, String Rep & Junior Rep Orchestras Perform

Saturday, December 22 - Thursday, January 2
Prep Winter Vacation- No Prep classes, lessons, or rehearsals

January 2014

(Sunday, December 22 - Friday, January 6
WINTER VACATION - no Prep/SCE classes, lessons, or rehearsals
(YPO, YS and Youth Chorale may rehearse on Saturday, January 4))

Friday, January 3
No Faculty Council meeting

Saturday, January 4
No regularly scheduled Prep lessons or classes
YPO, YS, Youth Chorale Rehearsals Only
Prep offices closed

Week 14: Saturday, January 11
Workshops: String (7)
Recitals: Piano (6)
All Large Ensembles resume
Jazz Ensemble Recitals

Week 15: Saturday, January 18
Last Saturday of Fall Semester for Prep
Workshops: Piano (7); Brass/Woodwind (3)
Recitals: String (7); Jazz Ensembles
Progress reports due: Studio, Music Theory Teachers & Chamber Music
Advanced Masterclass Series: Baroque Repertoire with Sara Goldstein, 1-3 PM
Elizabeth Rowe Flute Masterclass, 12 - 2 PM in Location TBD
Eugene Kim: Prep Faculty Recital, 8:00 PM in Brown Hall

Monday, January 20
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
NEC offices closed

Week 16: Saturday, January 25
First Day Spring Semester Prep
Workshops: Chamber Music (1); Piano Duo (1)
Voice Masterclass Series: Healthy Speaking & Singing with Dr. Thomas Carroll & Team, Tufts, Center for Voice and Swallowing, 2-3 PM

Sunday, January 26
Chamber Music Festival

February 2014

Week 17: Saturday, February 1
Workshops: String (8)
Recitals: Piano (7); Brass/Woodwind (3)
No Preparatory Chamber Music coachings
Contemporary Festival Workshops and Concerts

Sunday, February 2
Contemporary Festival Concerts
Baroque Ensembles Concert 11:00 AM -  1:30 PM
(9:00 -10:30 AM warmup)

Friday, February 7
Faculty Council meeting: 9:15-11:15 AM @ SB 309

Week 18: Saturday, February 8
Workshops: Piano (8)
Recitals: String (8)
Voice Masterclass Series: Musical Theater Repertoire & Performance with Sabrina Learman, 2-3 PM
Suzuki Cello Recital, Keller Room 10 AM

Sunday, February 9
FrenchHornFest with Eli Epstein, 10 AM - 12 PM

Monday, February 10
YPO Dress Rehearsal 6:00 – 9:00 PM

Friday, February 14
JR. MYWE and Friday Baroque Ensembles will NOT be rehearsing
SR. MYWE is rehearsing as usual

Saturday, February 15
Winter Vacation-no classes lessons, or rehearsals (except YPO and Youth Chorale)
YPO Rehearsal
YPO Concert 8:00 PM
Prep Offices closed

Friday, February 21
No JR. & SR. MYWE rehearsal
African Music Festival: Youth Chorale & more concert, 8 PM in Brown

Week 19: Saturday, February 22
Workshops: String (9)
Recitals: Piano (8)
Prep Open House
Brass Masterclass: Using Acting Methods to Create Moving Performances: What classical musicians can learn from the theatre. Presented by Eli Epstein, veteran hornist of the Cleveland Orchestra, 11:15 AM - 12 noon
YJO performance at Feast of Music

Sunday, February 23
Shakespeare Concert @ 8:00 PM (YPO Performs)
Larry Bell: Prep Faculty Recital, 4:00 PM in Williams Hall

March 2014

Week 20: Saturday, March 1
First date for scheduling REQUIRED student recitals (Certificate Program)
Workshops: Piano (9)
Recitals: String (9)
Faculty recital applications Due
Brass Masterclass: "How do I learn this, NOW?": How to practice efficiently, effectively, and deeply. Presented by Joseph Foley, Principal Trumpet of the Rhode Island Philharmonic, 11:15 AM - 12 noon

Friday, March 7
Faculty Council meeting: 9:15 – 11:15 AM @ SB 309

Week 21: Saturday, March 8
Workshops: String (10)
Recitals: Piano (9)
Voice Masterclass Series: Mock Auditions! 2-3 PM

Sunday, March 9
Constantine Finehouse: Prep Faculty Recital, 7:30 PM in Jordan Hall

Sunday, March 9 - Saturday, March 15
Prep Spring Vacation: no Prep classes, lessons, or rehearsals

Monday, March 10
Julianne Lee: Prep Faculty Recital, 8:00 PM in Jordan Hall

Sunday, March 16
Clara Sandler: Prep Faculty Recital, 7:00 PM in Brown Hall
Boston Trio Concert: Prep Ensemble-In-Residence, 8:00 PM in Jordan Hall

Friday, March 21
Sam Ou: Prep Faculty Recital, 8:30 PM in Williams Hall

Week 22: Saturday, March 22
Workshops: Piano (10); Brass/Woodwind (4)
Recitals: String (10)
Prep evaluation forms distributed to teachers
Advanced Masterclass Series: Movement for Singers with Melinda Sullivan, 1-3 PM
Lilit Karapetian-Shougarian: Prep Faculty Recital, 8:00 PM in Williams Hall

Week 23: Saturday, March 29
Workshops: String (11)
Recitals: Piano (10); Brass/Woodwind (4)
David Coucheron (Atlanta Symphony) masterclass, 11am-1pm in the Keller Room
First date for scheduling NON-required and STUDIO (Prep. Only) recitals
Brass Masterclass: "Natural is good. Natural works.": A class on breathing to facilitate your best tone production. Presented by Richard Kelley, Boston Pops trumpeter, 11:15 AM - 12 noon

April 2014

Friday, April 4
Faculty Council meeting: 9:15-11:15 AM @ SB 309

Week 24: Saturday, April 5
Prep Evaluation forms due
Workshops: Piano (11); Brass/Woodwind (5)
Recitals: String (11)
Advanced Masterclass Series: Working with the Director with Crystal Manich, 1-3 PM

Sunday, April 6
TromboneFest with Norman Bolter, 10 AM - 12 PM

Week 25: Saturday, April 12
Workshops: String (12)
Recitals: Piano (11); Brass/Woodwind (5)
Boston Cello Quartet Masterclass - 10 AM-12 PM, location TBD

Week 26: Saturday, April 19
Workshops: Piano (12)
Recitals: String  (12)
Spring Chamber Music Festival Forms Due

Week 27: Saturday, April 26
Workshops: String (13)
Recitals: Piano (12)
Prep Evaluation schedules posted
Voice Masterclass Series: Recital & Evaluation Preparation, 2-3 PM
Tony Woodcock Violin Masterclass, 10 AM - 12 PM
STO Parents Breakfast

May 2014


Friday, May 2
Faculty Council 9:15 -11:15 AM @ SB 309

Week 28: Saturday, May 3
Recitals: String (13)
Jazz Evaluation Day
Voice Department Recitals

Sunday, May 4
Voice Department Recitals at Longyear Museum

Sunday, May 4-Saturday, May 17
Large Ensemble Audition Period

Week 29: Saturday, May 10
Evaluation Day – Evaluations take the place of studio lessons; classes and large ensemble rehearsals (orchestra and chorus) continue at regular times
NO CHAMBER MUSIC COACHINGS
Recitals: Jazz Ensembles
NEC College Fair
Recital Sign-up Deadline
Faculty Appreciation Lunch

Sunday, May 11
YRO/SCO Concert
YPO Next Generation Rehearsal @ Boston Ballet Studio

Tuesday, May 13
Dress Rehearsal for YPO Next Generation / Boston Ballet School

Wednesday, May 14
Next Generation / Boston Ballet School / YPO Concert, 7:30 PM @ Boston Opera House

Week 30: Saturday, May 17
Last Day Prep Spring Semester
Recitals: Jazz Ensembles
Workshops: Piano Duo (2)
Trombone Choir Concert, 12 PM in Williams
Musical Theatre Recital

Sunday, May 18 - Saturday, May 24
Prep Make-up Period
May 19- June 7
Prep Recital Period

Monday, May 19
Sr. MYWE Concert 7:30 PM (4:00 – 6:00 PM soundcheck)
Sarah Takagi: Prep Faculty Recital, 8:00 PM in Pierce Hall
Youth Chorale Dress Rehearsal

Tuesday, May 20
Youth Jazz Orchestra Concert 7:30 PM
(4:00 – 6:00 PM soundcheck)

Wednesday, May 21
YS Dress Rehearsal 6:00 – 9:00 PM

Thursday, May 22
YS Concert 8:00 PM
(6:30-7:15 PM warm up)

Friday, May 23
YBE/TC Brown Hall Concert (TBD)
Jennifer Sgroe, Prep Voice Faculty Recital: 8 PM in the Keller Room

Saturday, May 24
Workshops: Chamber Music (2)
Chamber Music Coachings
Piano Seminar Spring Recitals

Sunday, May 25
Prep Recital Period Continues
Chamber Music Festival
                                                  
Monday, May 26  
Memorial Day
NEC offices closed

Tuesday, May 27
Spring Concert:
Youth Chorale 7:30 PM
(6:00 – 6:45 PM warmup)

Wednesday, May 28
YPO Dress Rehearsal 6:00 – 9:00 PM

Friday, May 30
Vanessa Morris: Prep Faculty Recital, 8:00 PM in Brown Hall

Saturday, May 31
Graduation & Awards Ceremony  10:30 AM
Spring Festival 2:00-6:00 PM  Children’s Choruses, String Training, Prep String, String Rep, and Junior Rep Orch
(YPO and YS regular rehearsals)

June 2014

Sunday, June 1
Baroque Ensembles Concert 9:30 AM start (new time)
Prep Recital Period Continues
YS/YPO Joint Concert @ 3:00 PM
Faculty Appreciation Dinner

Monday, June 2
Jr. MYWE Concert 7:30 PM
(5:30 – 7:00 PM warmup)
Prep Office Summer Hours begin (office is open on a Monday – Friday schedule Jun/Jul/Aug)

Tuesday, June 3
Chamber Music Showcase 7:00 PM

Wednesday, June 4
Piano Department Tour Send-Off Concert

Friday, June 6
No Faculty Council meeting

Saturday, June 7
Jin-Kyung Joen: Prep Faculty Recital, 7:00 PM in Brown Hall

Sunday, June 8
Last day of Prep School Recitals

Friday, June 20
YS Concert at Sanders Theater, Harvard

* MYWE/Piano Department Tour Dates are TBD and will occur toward the end of June

2014-05-28


MUSICIANS OWN MUSIC BECAUSE MUSIC OWNS THEM. VIRGIL THOMSON