How to Apply

Thank you for your interest in NEC. We are a community of many of the world's most talented young musicians, and we hope you consider joining us!

Please be sure to read all of the application instructions thoroughly, and note that there are significant changes from prior years:

 

  • NEC will return to a live audition format for Fall 2022 auditions, but there is flexibility for applicants who are unable to travel to Boston due to ongoing pandemic restrictions. Additional information regarding these options will be provided to applicants who pass the prescreening round. 

  • Applications for Fall 2022 (September) admission must be submitted by December 1. Most programs require a prescreening recording as described in our Audition Requirements.

  • The Fall 2022 application is now live, and it can be accessed here.

Applications for Spring (January) admission are accepted on a space-available basis. Students interested in a Spring 2022 start term should contact the Admissions staff about anticipated openings before submitting an application.

Please see detailed information for:

Undergraduate Applicants

Graduate Applicants
 

Request Information

 

Contact Us

We are currently working on a hybrid in-person/remote schedule due to the present global pandemic situation, so the best way to contact us is by email. In order to answer your inquiries promptly, we ask that you do not call our offices, but rather that you use the email addresses below. We strongly encourage you to directly contact the staff member for your intended major/instrument:

Vocal Performance and Pedagogy
Austin Comerford, Admissions and Financial Aid Counselor
austin.comerford@necmusic.edu 

Woodwinds, Brass and Percussion
Emily Cox, Assistant Director of Admissions and Financial Aid
emily.cox@necmusic.edu 

Jazz, Contemporary Improvisation
Shanell Percy, Admissions and Financial Aid Counselor
shanell.percy@necmusic.edu

Piano, Collaborative Piano, Piano Chamber Music, Piano Trio Program,
Composition, Theory, Musicology

Claire Paik, Assistant Director of Admissions and Financial Aid
claire.paik@necmusic.edu

Strings, Conducting, String Quartet Program
Zach Schwartz, Assistant Director of Admissions and Financial Aid
zach.schwartz@necmusic.edu

General Inquiries
admissions@necmusic.edu

Lauren Urbanek, Associate Dean for Financial Aid
lauren.urbanek@necmusic.edu 

 

NEC Community Video

NEC does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, age, national or ethnic origin, sexual orientation, physical or mental disability, or veteran status in the administration of its educational policies, admission policies, employment policies, scholarship and loan programs, or other Conservatory-sponsored activities.