NEC Philharmonia + David Loebel: Nielsen, Agócs, Beethoven

NEC: Jordan Hall | Directions

290 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA
United States

NEC Associate Conductor of Orchestras David Loebel leads the NEC Philharmonia in a program of works by Nielsen, NEC faculty composer Kati Agócs, and Beethoven.


Both Beethoven’s “Pastoral” Symphony and Nielsen’s Helios Overture take their inspiration from the beauty of the natural world. Named for the Greek god of the sun and composed while visiting Greece, Nielsen’s overture portrays the sun’s daily journey across the sky from dawn until dusk.
-- David Loebel


Access the concert program in our digital archive.

This is an in-person event with a public live stream. 

Watch Live from Jordan Hall 

  1. Carl Nielsen | Helios Overture, op. 17

  2. Kati Agócs | Perpetual Summer (2010, rev. 2012)


    Program note

    Perpetual Summer is scored for large orchestra with a sextet of amplified, processed string soloists and amplified harpsichord (or synthesizer simulating a harpsichord sound). It was commissioned by the National Youth Orchestra of Canada in 2010 in celebration of its Fiftieth Anniversary, for which I served as Composer-in-Residence. Elegiac, even apocalyptic in tone, this work represents my reaction to a vision of our planet on which summer never ends. The piece establishes a dialogue between the soloists and orchestra in a manner typical of the Baroque Concerto Grosso. Summer from Vivaldi’s ‘The Four Seasons’ appears as a found object in the work. The modern orchestra, with its greatly expanded percussion resources, inspires a dynamic interplay of weights and densities. The Vivaldi gestures are transformed in a battle of light and shadow which unfolds across the canvas of a twelve-minute trajectory.
    Kati Agócs



  4. Ludwig van Beethoven | Symphony No. 6 in F Major, op. 68 "Pastoral"

    Allegro ma non troppo.  Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande
         (Awakening of cheerful feelings on arrival in the countryside)
    Andante molto mosso.  Szene am Bach (Scene by the brook)
    Allegro.  Lustiges Zusammensein der Landleute (Merry gathering of country folk)
    Allegro.  Gewitter, Sturm (Thunder, storm)
    Allegretto.  Hirtengesang. Frohe und dankbare Gefühle nach dem Sturm
         (Shepherd's song. Cheerful and thankful feelings after the storm)

  5. Personnel

    First Violin
    Aidan Ip
    Youngji Choi
    Eric Chen
    Haerim Oh
    Boxianzi Vivian Ling
    Nozomi Murayama
    Yeonsoo Kim
    Hyeonah Hong
    Chloe Hong
    Isabella Gorman
    Kristy Chen
    Eunha Kim
    Xiaoqing Yu

    Second Violin
    Tiffany Chang
    Masha Lakisova
    Bree Fotheringham
    Dorson Chang
    Hannah O’Brien
    Hanks Tsai
    Yulia Watanabe-Price
    Bella Jeong
    Arun Asthagiri
    Jordan Hadrill
    Hila Dahari
    Kaitlyn Knudsvig


    Chiau-Rung Chen
    John Harry Clark
    Junghyun Ahn
    Sophia Tseng
    Cara Pogossian
    Aidan Garrison
    Kwong Man To
    Hyelim Kong
    Bram Fisher
    Yeh-Chun Lin
    ChengRong Li
    Ayano Nakamura

    Jeffrey Ho
    Claire Deokyong Kim
    Nathan Le
    Jiho Seo
    Andres Sanchez-Linares
    Soobin Kong
    Adi Muralidharan
    Davis You
    Eva Sánchez-Vegazo
    Pi-Wei Lin

    Jesse Dale
    Daniel Slatch
    Minyi Wang
    Yihan Wu
    Chiyang Chen

    Alyssa Peterson

    Javier Castro ‡
    Anne Chao +
    Elizabeth Kleiber
    Yang Liu
    Yechan Min §
    Subin Serena Oh
    Mara Riley

    Elizabeth Kleiber §
    Yechan Min ‡
    Subin Serena Oh +

    Dane Bennett §
    Donovan Bown +
    Sojeong Kim ‡
    Sam Rockwood

    English horn
    Sam Rockwood

    Tyler J. Bourque
    Chenrui Lin +
    Soyeon Park §
    Erica Smith ‡

    Bass Clarinet
    Tyler J. Bourque

    Adam Chen
    Garrett Comrie
    Andrew Flurer
    John Fulton ‡
    Evan Judson §
    Richard Vculek +

    Garrett Comrie

    French horn
    Karlee Kamminga
    Xiang Li ‡
    Yeonjo Oh +
    Willow Otten
    Paolo Rosselli §

    Jake Baldwin §
    Michael Harms
    Nelson Martinez
    David O’Neill +
    Alex Prokop ‡

    Eli Canales
    Lukas Helsel §
    Zachary Johnson +
    Jianlin Sha ‡

    Bass Trombone
    Jason Sato +
    Luke Sieve §

    Masaru Lin

    Ariel Pei Hsien Lu §
    Zesen Wei ‡
    Yiming Yao +

    Parker Olson
    Hayoung Song
    Zesen Wei
    Leigh Wilson §

    Yvonne Cox

    Pei-Hsuan Shen


    Principal players