NEC Symphony + Paul Biss: Mussorgsky, Simon, Tchaikovsky

NEC: Jordan Hall | Directions

290 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA
United States

NEC Symphony, led by Paul Biss, explores Mussorgsky's Night on Bald Mountain, Carlos Simon's Elegy: A Cry from the Grave, and Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4 in F Minor.

View the concert program in light mode & dark mode, recommended for in-person audiences.

This is an in-person event with a private stream available to the NEC community here

  • NEC Symphony
  1. Modest Mussorgsky | Night on Bald Mountain

  2. Carlos Simon | Elegy: A Cry from the Grave (2015)

    Program note

    This piece is an artistic reflection dedicated to those who have been murdered wrongfully by an oppressive power; namely Trayvon Martin, Eric Garner and Michael Brown. The stimulus for composing piece came as a result of prosecuting attorney Robert McCulloch announcing that a selected jury had decided not to indict police officer, Daren Wilson after fatally shooting an unarmed teenager, Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri.
                    The evocative nature of the piece draws on strong lyricism and a lush harmonic charter. A melodic idea is played in all the voices of the ensemble at some point of the piece either whole or fragmented. The recurring ominous motif represents the cry of those struck down unjustly in this country. While the predominant essence of the piece is sorrowful and contemplative, there are moments of extreme hope represented by bright consonant harmonies.         

    – Carlos Simon


  4. Piotr Ilich Tchaikovsky | Symphony No. 4 in F Minor, op. 36

    Andante sostenuto - Moderato con anima
    Andantino in moda di canzona
    Scherzo: Pizzicato ostinato
    Finale: Allegro con fuoco



    First Violin

    Darwin Chang
    Sofia Skoldberg
    Jeremiah Jung
    ChiungHan Tsai
    Olga Kaminsky
    Emma Servadio
    Aidan Daniels
    Yirou Zhang
    HyoJeong Hwang
    Tzu-Ya Huang
    Ryan Tully
    Gabriella Foster

    Second Violin
    Sarah Campbell
    Kearston Gonzales
    Abby Reed
    Sydney Scarlett
    Tara Hagle
    Michael Fisher
    Emma Boyd
    William Kinney
    Maxwell Fairman
    Caroline Smoak
    Shiyu Wang
    Célina Bethoux

    Peter Jablokow
    Eunha Kwon
    Nicolette Sullivan-Cozza
    Jowen Hsu
    Katherine Purcell
    Nathan Emans
    Ru-Yao Van der Ploeg
    Harry Graham
    Philip Rawlinson


    Miruna Eynon
    Max Zhenren Zhao
    Asher Kalfus
    Phoebe Chen
    Jonathan Fuller
    Zanipolo Lewis
    Amelia Allen
    Mina Kim
    Tianao Pan
    Austin Topper

    Luke Tsuchiya

    Isabel Atkinson
    Brian Choy
    Colby Heimburger

    Isabel Evernham ‡
    Subee Kim
    Jou Ying Ting
    Nina Tsai *

    Honor Hickman ‡
    Anna Ridenour *

    Yuhsi Chang *
    Robert Diaz
    Corinne Foley ‡

    Sarah Cho ‡
    Xianyi Ji *
    Hugo Hyeokwoo Kweon
    Cole Turkel

    Seth Goldman ‡
    Kangwei Lu
    Carson Meritt
    Jialu Wang *

    French horn
    Mattias Bengtsson ‡
    Graham Lovely
    Tess Reagan *
    Xiaoran Xu

    Matthew Mihalko
    Justin Park
    Allie Richmond *
    Cody York ‡ 

    Rebecca Bertekap *
    Noah Nichilo
    Alex Russell

    Kevin Smith

    Bass Trombone
    Roger Dahlin ‡

    Jordan Jenifor ‡
    Hayden Silvester *

    Isabella Butler *
    Eli Reisz ‡

    Isabella Butler
    Doyeon Kim
    Nga ieng Sabrina Lai ‡
    Mark Larrivee
    Eli Reisz
    Rohan Zakharia *

    Jingtong Zhang

    Principal players