Gilmore Young Artist Award

Since 1990, the Gilmore Young Artist Award is presented every two years to single out the most promising of the new generation of U.S. pianists, age 22 and younger.

Candidates for the Award are unaware that they are under consideration by an anonymous selection committee, in keeping with the philosophy of noncompetition that characterizes the programs established as the legacy of Kalamazoo businessman and philanthropist Irving S. Gilmore. Learn more.

2010 | Charlie Albright with the Boston Pops in 2016

Gilmore Young Artist Award recipients with NEC affiliations

Clayton Stephenson, '23 Harvard/NEC 
(awarded 2021)

George Li, '19 Harvard/NEC, '22 AD
(awarded 2011)

Charlie Albright '11 Harvard, '12 NEC M.M.
(awarded 2010)

Soojin Ahn '95
(awarded 1993)

Brenda Huang '95 DP
(awarded 1990)

Christopher Taylor '00 M.M.
(awarded 1990)