Metropolitan Opera Laffont Competition

The Metropolitan Opera Eric and Dominique Laffont Competition is designed to discover promising young opera singers and assist in the development of their careers.

Founded in 1954 as the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions, the competition is sponsored by the Metropolitan Opera National Council, including members and volunteers from across the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

Noted singers who got their start in the auditions include Renée Fleming, Susan Graham, Stephanie Blythe, Eric Owens, Lawrence Brownlee, Lisette Oropesa, Jamie Barton, Michael Fabiano, Anthony Roth Costanzo, Ryan Speedo Green, and Nadine Sierra.

New England Conservatory alumni and faculty who have received this esteemed award include:


Anthony León ’21 MM
Winner; Student of Bradley Williams

Yuntong Han ‘21
Finalist; Student of MaryAnn McCormick


Erica Petrocelli ’14, ’16 MM, ’18 AD
Finalist; Student of Bradley Williams


Michelle Johnson ’05
Winner; Student of Helen Hodam and William Cotten


Claudia Huckle ’05 DP
Winner; Student of Heidi Skok and Susan Clickner


Barbara Quintiliani ’99
Winner; Student of Kathleen Kaun and Patricia Craig


Lisa Saffer ’84 MM, ’86 AD
Winner; Student of Helen Hodam
Alumna and NEC faculty member


Vincent Cole
Winner; Former NEC faculty


Justino Diaz ’63, ’86 hon. DM
Winner; Student of Boris Goldovsky and Frederick Jagel

Junetta Jones ’63 MM
Winner; Student of Gladys Miller


Ronald Holgate ’59
Winner; Student of Boris Goldovsky