Recital: Jade Wu '22, Saxophone

NEC: Burnes Hall | Directions

255 St. Botolph St.
Boston, MA
United States

NEC's students meet one-on-one each week with a faculty artist to perfect their craft. As each one leaves NEC to make their mark in the performance world, they present a full, professional recital that is free and open to the public. It's your first look at the artists of tomorrow.

Jade Wu '22 studies Saxophone with Kenneth Radnofsky.

View the concert program here.

This is an in-person event with a private stream available to the NEC community here:

  1. Benjamin Britten | Six Metamorphoses after Ovid, op. 49

    Pan, who played upon the reed pipe which was Syrinx, his beloved.

    Phaeton, who rode upon the chariot of the sun for one day and was hurled into the river Padus by a thunderbolt.

    Niobe, who, lamenting the death of her fourteen children, was turned into a mountain.

    Bacchus, at whose feasts is heard the noise of gaggling women’s tattling tongues and shouting out of boys.

    Narcissus, who fell in love with his own image and became a flower.

    Arethusa, who, flying from the love of Alpheus the river god, was turned into a fountain.

  2. Jacques Ibert | Concertino da Camera

    Allegro con moto
    Larghetto – Animato molto

    • Ziang Yin, piano
  3. Ryo Noda | Maï


    At dusk of an Autumn evening,
    As the moon reflects its silver light on the surface of the waves,
    General Kiyotsun Taira plays his flute.

    Standing at the bow of his ship, 
    He seizes his dagger and slices a braid(knot) from his head,
    Places it by his feet,
    And disappears into the sea.

    At the threshold of his house,
    The ghost of the Samurai appears.
    Confronting him his wife asks:
    “Why did you leave?”
    “To save my army”, he answered...“Because I knew in advance that the battle was lost,
    and thus, I saved the lives of my men and their families”.

    “And me”, she said, “Did you think of me”?

    from Git de Heike
    (history of the Tairan warrior clan)


  4. Robert Schumann | Fantasiestücke, op. 73

    Zart und mit Ausdruck
    Lebhaft, leicht
    Rasch und mit Feuer

    • Jingsi Lu, piano

    Big thank you to my teacher Ken Radnofsky for the six years of teaching.
    Thank you to my friends who were helpful and supportive.
    Finally, thank you Aga.